Pure Drivel!

Before I continue with this post I would like to get one thing off my chest, if you are reading this expecting some meaningful insight, stop now! This post has nothing very important to say, probably something to do with the fact that Captain Morgan has taken the ship for a wee sail and I have something to get off my chest.

I like writing, I like ranting, I like ranting through my writing. The fact that I have quite a few hits through my blog mean that some of you like reading my writing about ranting (and occasionally my ranting about writing!). So let’s have a rant!

A LETTER COMPOSED TO THE OBNOXIOUS PERSON I MET IN IRISH VILLAGE THIS FRIDAY.

Dear Muppet.

I have met many people like you who come to the UAE to make their millions only to fall at the first hurdle because their attitude got in the way, God only knows how you managed to stay here for five years. The only reason that I know you have been here for five years is because you had the audacity to tell me, quite rudely I might add, that you had. Well done! I would like to point out that you riled me slightly and therefore saw my darker side, please don’t do that again, you might not be so lucky a second time round. What really shocked me was that your freinds actually put up with your ignorant AND arrogant behaviour. You had been told once by the waitress to behave yourself, yet you thought that because you had been here for five years you could continue to act like a yobbo. I will state a simple fact for you, people (and I dont just mean locals, but good expats as well) will not put up with your behaviour for much longer. If you feel the need to try to prove that your are bigger than what you are, than you are but a mere boy. Go back to school, learn some manners and remember what your mother taught you before acting like a spoilt little runt.

The end.

I feel better for getting that onto paper.

I would have liked to have sent this in to 7days to start a war of words, but I than thought whats the point. He probably can’t read, and if he could his response would have been quite boring.

Somewhere deep down, I have a real intolerance for people that dont have any respect, culture, manners and are ignorance personified. I know that I shouldn’t be annoyed by these people, but unfortunately I am. I also have this terrible knack for not being able to hold my tongue and letting these people know exactly how I feel. At some point in my life, I will learn how to breathe and hold my tongue, but at the moment, no holds barred.

It is always good to have freinds with you at this point, freinds, whom no matter what stick by your side. They come far and few between, and they are to be cherished because life is too short not to have people like that around you. I have been lucky in that respect and I know that I dont have to mention any names (you know who you are!). The rest of the detritus can float on by, but the people that you want by your side will always be by your side.

I leave you with a quote:

“When you are gone, nobody remembers what car you drove, how big your bank balance was or how big a house you lived in. What they do remember is whether you changed their lives or not.”

~ by youseflahej on July 29, 2008.

Leave a comment