An Olympic Month

Well after a rest from blogging, well earned I might add, I am going to get back on the train. I have had a hectic few weeks, yes unemployment is extremely hectic. Do I eat now or later? What clothes should I wear today? When did I last have a shower? And of course the most important question when unemployed ‘What time should I go to sleep and what time should I wake up?’ Needless to say it does get a bit chaotic, and I have seemed to have turned night into day. But there has been plenty of sport for me watch which is always a good thing.

First of all England – South Africa Test Cricket: Yes England have been awful until they decided to get rid of Vaughan and now seem to have understood that to play test cricket, you have to be patient. The problem with England teams in general is that they are afriad to win. There is actually a proven study about teams and individuals being scared to win, just look at the England football side. The only team I seem to know that isn’t is the GBR Sailing team, which leads me onto the next point.

The Olympics are here and I am fed up of watching all the different sports with Arabic commentary. They dont actually have a clue about what they are talking about. But nevermind, Womens Beach Volleyball, now there’s a sport.

The Olympic Motto is ‘Citius, Altius, Fortius’ which means swifter, faster and stronger. In this day and age of professional sportspeople, records get broken at an astonishing rate. You cannot really compare this day and age with previous Olympics as the values and ideals have changed quite dramatically. Instead of being a celebration of sporting acheivements, it has become a circus showing off the talents of altered bodies running faster, jumping higher and punching stronger than ever before. The reason for this is that there is so much money involved. Cities vie for the honour of hosting the Olympics as it is a great way to earn money and show the world how rich and big they now are. The majority of athletes compete in them because it will be a step up for their career and their advertising takings. I just have to point out Andy Murray, who couldn’t even be bothered playing some decent tennis and eventually lost to someone ranked 77th (not to take that away from the guy, but you know what I mean). Shouldn’t it be an honour to represent your country in the Olympics, rather than just turn up and wave a little and get a free holiday.

As quoted from the Olympic Congress:

‘One of the fundamental principles of Olympism is that Olympism is a philosophy of life, exalting and combining in a balanced whole the qualities of body, will and mind. Blending sport with culture and education, Olympism seeks to create a way of life based on the joy found in effort, the educational value of leading by example and a respect for fundamental universal ethical principles. The Olympic Movement should evaluate whether the Olympic Games still help to promote the Olympic ideals and whether the Olympic values continue to contribute to the success of the Olympic Games.’

Would you agree with this?

And than we look at the sports. Well my two nominations for worst Olympic sports would have to be Synchronised Swimming and Racewalking. How Synchronised swimming is a sport is beyond me! Swifter, faster and stronger. Hmmmm how does Synchronised Swimming embrace these? Racewalking on the other hand could have a case, but the fact remains. It just looks gay! There are plenty of sports to watch though from my favorite, Womens Beach Volleyball (Yes I am a misogynist prick!), Track and Field, to the Cycling. Just remember when watching in Dubai, to press mute or turn the volume down. I also hear that Nintendo Wii Users are also campaigning to get a spot in the Olympics in London.

Whilst we are in China, I would like to mention the Giant Panda. This beautiful animal is nearly extinct. It is the mascot for the WWF (Not wrestling!) and is generally just a cuddly thing. But no wonder it is almost extinct, its only habitat is up a mountain where its bamboo grows, it doesnt leave in the winter months due to not being able to eat any other foods. And Bamboo is so unnutritional that it doesnt really do anything for the Panda, to the extent that it cant actually hibernate like other bears during the winter months. I am not being harsh, but no wonder it is nearly extinct, it hasnt really evolved that well has it?

Until next time, Zai Jian!!

P.s: Thanks TimeOut Dubai this week in your Olympic Article for missing out Adel Khalid representing the UAE in sailing, well done for the time you took to actually research your article. Get it right next time!!!

~ by youseflahej on August 11, 2008.

2 Responses to “An Olympic Month”

  1. An amazing post Yousef , I am totally with you on the Arabic commentary thing, but Dubai Sports 2(Free to Air) and Aljazeera Sports +3 (Paid) channels provide English Commentary on most events. And I guess if you subscribe with ART you might be able to get the Olympics on ESPN which for sure has English commentary.

    The worst Arabic commentary I heard is during the opening ceremony, totally clueless. To be honest I do not care about 95% of the sports in the Olympics, I am more into Football (or what Americans like to call ‘Soccer’)

  2. Which is another sport which shouldn’t be in the olympics.

Leave a comment